tiger.gif (38928 bytes)

Hopkinsville HS
Band of Tigers
Back to HHS Music * Band News *
Choir News
* HHS Music Email

Student Leadership - Awards - Honor Bands


Marching Season
"Caccia and Chorale" and "Symphonic Dance #3"
by Clifton Williams

September 12th at Madisonville

   2nd Place
September 19th at Elizabethtown
   4th Place
September 26th at Christian County
   1st Place and Grand Champion
October 10th at Murray State
   Prelims: 8th place
   Finals: 10th place
October 17th at HHS Invitational
October 24th at West 3A Regionals
   6th Place
October 31st at State Semi-Finals
   14th Place

Student Leadership
Drum Major: Shataun Ferrell
Section Leaders:
Kristin Jones, flutes;ChiCha Thomas, clarinets; Clarence Sumpter, saxes; William Gray, trumpets; Jeremy Lee, mellophones; Mark Boxley, trombones and low brass; Michelle Hauret, tuba; Ben Pryor, percussion; Samantha Moore, colorguard
Band Officers
Michelle Hauret, President
Ben Pryor, President-Elect
Amanda Stewart, Secretary-Treasurer

Honor Bands
District Honor Band
David Bridgeman (Tuba), Mark Boxley (Trombone), Kristin Jones (Flute), Jeremy Lee (French Horn), and Clarence Sumpter (Clarinet).

All-State - Mark Boxley
Kristin, Jeremy and Clarence were also recommended to the second round of auditions for the KY All-State Band

WKU Honor Band
Mark Boxley, David Bridgeman, Kristin Jones,
and Clarence Sumpter.

Murray Quad State - Jeremy Lee

Concert Season
Christmas Concert
"Christmas Music for Winds"
   John Cacavas
"Symphonic Prelude on Adeste Fidelis"
   James Curnow
"Fanfare Prelude on Joy to the World"
   James Curnow
"Ye Banks and Braes, O' Bonnie Doon"
   Percy Grainger
"Prelude and Fugue in Bflat Minor"
   JS Bach

District Concert Festival
Straight Superior Ratings!

"Fanfare and Dance Segments"
   Roland Barrett
"Elegy for a Young American"
   Ronald LoPresti
"Finale from the Fall of Berlin"     
   Shostakovich, arr. Douglas Harris

Spring Concert
"Colonel Bogey"
   Kenneth Alford
"Carnival of the Animals"
Bacchinale from "Samson and Delilah"
Mass from "La Fiesta Mexicana"
   H. Owen Reed

John Philip Sousa - Kristin Jones
Hall of Fame
- Mark Boxley
Andre Gray Award - Ben Pryor

Outstanding Band Members
9th-Charlotte Zimmerman
10th-Michael Lageman
11th-Ben Pryor
12th-Jeremy Lee and Clarence Sumpter
Guard-Jessica Webb

Most Improved Band Members
9th-Mirna Velasquez
10th-Nikki Whitman
12th-William Gray
Guard-Melissa Sayers

flare.jpg (4455 bytes)
Congratulations Eklipse!

4th Place (92.1)
WGI World Championships
Independent Open Class Drumline

Southeastern Color Guard Circuit
Gold Medalist

Congratulations Champions!

wguard.jpg (5134 bytes)
SCGC Silver Medalist
Novice Class - HHS Winterguard