American Airlines Flight 2470
First Commercial Airliner to Land on Runway 11-29
(Lambert St. Louis International Airport)
April 13, 2006

American Airlines Flight 2470 (AAL2470) was the first commercial airliner to land on Runway 11-29 (picture), the newest runway at Lambert St. Louis International Airport (map). Flight 2470 departed from Gate 8 at Santa Ana-John Wayne-Orange County Airport, Irvine, California (map) at 9:12 AM Pacific Daylight Time and took off around 9:33 AM PDT. The pilot informed the passengers that we would be the first commercial airliner to land on this runway five minutes prior to landing. According to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch Flight 2470 landed April 13, 2006 at 2:28 PM Central Daylight Time. The flight arrived at Gate C16 at Lambert St. Louis International Airport. Flight 2470 is an MD-83 built by The Boeing Company. According to the "SPOTTERS" web site, the FAA Registry for AAL2470 on April 13, 2006 is N9401W.

The final approach to Runway 11-29 does not appear much different than the approach to the other Lambert runways. After landing on the runway, the first major sight is the new Lambert Airport Rescue and Firefighting Facility. The Lindbergh Boulevard Tunnel is not clearly visible from inside the passenger cabin.

The flight path between Santa Ana-John Wayne-Orange County Airport and Lambert St. Louis International Airport is similar to the most direct highway path. Flight 2470 (AAL2470) originates in San Jose, CA (KSJC) and proceeds onto Orange County, CA (KSNA), St Louis, MO (KSTL) and Ft Myers, FL (KRSW). FlightAware shows a map and a track log of the complete flight path of Flight 2470. The return flight appears to be AAL1345 which originates in Tampa, FL (KTPA) and proceeds to St Louis, MO (KSTL),  Orange County, CA (KSNA) and San Jose, CA (KSJC). You may need to register with FlightAware to see this information. Registration is free.

The Lambert St. Louis International Airport Expansion Program website posted pictures of the April 13, 2006 Runway 11-29 opening ceremonies during the weekend of June 3-4, 2006. Featured on that page are pictures of the DC-3 from the Prairie Aviation Museum. Former Ozark Air Lines pilots flew a DC-3 from the Prairie Aviation Museum in Bloomington, Ill., to participate in the runway ribbon-cutting ceremonies. The first aircraft wearing commercial colors to depart from Runway 11-29 was an historic DC-3 that participated in ribbon-cutting festivities. The historic DC-3 departs Runway 11-29. The flight path of this flight is on FlightAware.

The pictures shown below were taken during this flight and shortly there after. The majority of the pictures within the cabin were taken from Seat 5B on the left side of the aircraft. The original pictures are of higher resolution and are available upon request. The pictures were taken with an Olympus FE-100 camera.

Pictures are copyright Daniel Dassow (dan_dassow@yahoo.com) April 13, 2006 all rights reserved,
unless otherwise noted. Permission is granted to use these pictures so long as this copyright notice is attached.

Date/Time: 04/13/2006 11:36 AM CDT (9:36 AM PDT)
- 24 minutes after gate time - 3 minutes after take-off (map)
Flight 2470 took off westbound over the Pacific Ocean and turned south while climbing to altitude.


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 11:37 AM CDT (9:37 AM PDT)
- 25 minutes after gate time - 4 minutes after take-off (map)
Picture of forward section of cabin


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 11:38 AM CDT (9:38 AM PDT)
- 26 minutes after gate time - 5 minutes after take-off (map)


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 11:38 AM CDT (9:38 AM PDT)
- 26 minutes after gate time - 5 minutes after take-off (map)


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 11:43 AM CDT (9:43 AM PDT)
- 31 minutes after gate time - 10 minutes after take-off (map)


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 12:52 PM CDT (10:52 AM PDT)
- 100 minutes after gate time - 89 minutes after take-off (map)
Some place over the Rocky Mountains


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:22 PM CDT (12:22 PM PDT)
- 190 minutes after gate time - 169 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:22 PM CDT (12:22 PM PDT)
- 190 minutes after gate time - 169 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:23 PM CDT (12:23 PM PDT)
- 191 minutes after gate time - 170 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:24 PM CDT (12:24 PM PDT)
- 192 minutes after gate time - 171 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:24 PM CDT (12:24 PM PDT)
- 192 minutes after gate time - 171 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:25 PM CDT (12:25 PM PDT)
- 193 minutes after gate time - 172 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:25 PM CDT (12:25 PM PDT)
- 193 minutes after gate time - 172 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:25 PM CDT (12:25 PM PDT)
- 193 minutes after gate time - 172 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:26 PM CDT (12:26 PM PDT)
- 194 minutes after gate time - 173 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:26 PM CDT (12:26 PM PDT)
- 194 minutes after gate time - 173 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:26 PM CDT (12:26 PM PDT)
- 194 minutes after gate time - 173 minutes after take-off
Final Approach


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:27 PM CDT (12:27 PM PDT)
- 195 minutes after gate time - 174 minutes after take-off
St. Louis Mills


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:27 PM CDT (12:27 PM PDT)
- 195 minutes after gate time - 174 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:27 PM CDT (12:27 PM PDT)
- 195 minutes after gate time - 174 minutes after take-off
Gist Road Bridge over I-270 just South of I-270 and I-370 interchange
Less than a minute before landing


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:28 PM CDT (12:28 PM PDT)
- 196 minutes after gate time - 175 minutes after take-off
Moments Before Landing
April 13, 2006 Copyright Lambert St. Louis International Airport OPS Center - Used with permission

April 13, 2006 St. Louis-Post Dispatch article that shows American Airlines Flight 2470 landing on Runway 2470.
Wikipedia has an article on Lambert St. Louis International Airport which also shows a picture of the landing.

Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:28 PM CDT (12:28 PM PDT)
- 196 minutes after gate time - 175 minutes after take-off
Moments After Landing


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:29 PM CDT (12:29 PM PDT)
- 197 minutes after gate time - 176 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:29 PM CDT (12:29 PM PDT)
- 197 minutes after gate time - 176 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:29 PM CDT (12:29 PM PDT)
- 197 minutes after gate time - 176 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:29 PM CDT (12:29 PM PDT)
- 197 minutes after gate time - 176 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:30 PM CDT (12:30 PM PDT)
- 198 minutes after gate time - 177 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:31 PM CDT (12:31 PM PDT)
- 199 minutes after gate time - 178 minutes after take-off


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:32 PM CDT (12:32 PM PDT)
- 200 minutes after gate time - 179 minutes after take-off (map)


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:32 PM CDT (12:32 PM PDT)
- 200 minutes after gate time - 179 minutes after take-off
At Gate C16 (map)


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:35 PM CDT (12:35 PM PDT)
- 203 minutes after gate time - 182 minutes after take-off
Cabin Attendant Lisa Corlese. Karen, the other cabin attendant, is not shown.


Date/Time: 04/13/2006 2:38 PM CDT (12:38 PM PDT)
- 206 minutes after gate time - 185 minutes after take-off
Pilot (left) and Co-Pilot (right) for flight 2470.

Pictures are copyright Daniel Dassow (dan_dassow@yahoo.com) April 13, 2006 all rights reserved,
unless otherwise noted. Permission is granted to use these pictures so long as this copyright notice is attached.

KMOV has a video of American Eagle flight landing on Runway 11-29 sometime after Flight 2470.

According to the Bureau of Transportation Statistics

Carrier Code Date (MM/DD/YYYY) Flight Number Tail Number Destination Airport Scheduled Departure Time Actual Departure Time Scheduled Elapsed Time Actual Elapsed Time Departure Delay Wheels-off Time Taxi-out Time
(Minutes) (Minutes) (Minutes) (Minutes)
AA 4/13/2006 2470 N4WJAA STL 9:22 9:12 206 201 -10 9:33 21
                     
Carrier Code Date (MM/DD/YYYY) Flight Number Tail Number Origin Airport Scheduled Arrival Time Actual Arrival Time Scheduled Elapsed Time Actual Elapsed Time Arrival Delay Wheels-on Time Taxi-in Time
(Minutes) (Minutes) (Minutes) (Minutes)
AA 4/13/2006 2470 N4WJAA SNA 14:48 14:33 206 201 -15 14:28 5

 

FAA Registry
N-Number Inquiry Results

 

N9401W is Assigned

Aircraft Description

Serial Number   53137            Type Registration   Corporation
Manufacturer Name MCDONNELL DOUGLAS Certificate Issue Date 07/20/2001
Model DC-9-83(MD-83) Status Valid
Type Aircraft Fixed Wing Multi-Engine Type Engine Turbo-Jet
Pending Number Change None Dealer No
Date Change Authorized None Mode S Code 53207670
MFR Year 1992 Fractional Owner NO




Registered Owner

Name     BCC EQUIPMENT LEASING CORP
Street 3780 KILROY AIRPORT WAY STE 750
City LONG BEACH State CALIFORNIA   Zip Code     90806-2460
County LOS ANGELES
Country UNITED STATES




Airworthiness

Engine Manufacturer   P & W   Classification Standard
Engine Model   JT8D SERIES   Category Transport
         
        A/W Date 08/08/1992

Other Owner Names


None


Natural Bridge Road runs parallel to and to the south of Runway 11-29. Gist Road runs parallel to and to the north of Runway 11-29.

A good place to observe take-offs and landings on Runway 11-29 is at the restaurant
India Palace
4534 N Lindbergh Blvd, 11th Floor
Bridgeton, MO 63044-2243 (map)
(314) 731-3333

The India Palace on the eleventh floor of the Airport Plaza Hotel (Formerly the Howard Johnson Hotel).

An FAA map of Runway 11-29 and general information concerning Lambert St. Louis International Airport is available courtesy FlightAware.

Runway 11/29

Dimensions:  9001 x 150 ft. / 2744 x 46 m
Surface:  concrete/gravel
Weight bearing capacity: 
Single wheel:  75000 lbs
Double wheel:  200000 lbs
Double tandem:  325000 lbs
Dual double tandem:  700000 lbs
Runway edge lights:  high intensity
  RUNWAY 11    RUNWAY 29
Latitude:  38-45.597155N   38-44.807600N
Longitude:  090-24.592483W   090-22.989802W
Elevation:  618.0 ft.   556.0 ft.
Traffic pattern:  left   left
Map   Google Hybrid Map   Google Hybrid Map
Declared distances:  TORA:9001 TODA:9001 ASDA:9001 LDA:9001   TORA:9001 TODA:9001 ASDA:9001 LDA:9001
Visual slope indicator:  4-light PAPI on right (3.00 degrees glide path)   4-light PAPI on left (3.00 degrees glide path)
Approach lights:  ALSF2: standard 2,400 foot high intensity approach lighting system with centerline sequenced flashers (category II or III)   ALSF2: standard 2,400 foot high intensity approach lighting system with centerline sequenced flashers (category II or III)
Touchdown point:  yes, lighted   yes, lighted
Instrument approach:  ILS/DME   ILS/DME

The link below is a map Michael Blakely made with all the AA airports in the USA. He used the real AA timetable.

USA and Canada (Red=AAL, Blue=EGF):
http://blakelyhome.dyndns.org/aavirtual/aal_egf_usa.jpg 

Europe (Red=AAL, Blue=OneWorld/Codeshare):
http://blakelyhome.dyndns.org/aavirtual/aa_europe.jpg 

Mexico:
http://blakelyhome.dyndns.org/aavirtual/aa_mexico.jpg 

Caribbean:
http://blakelyhome.dyndns.org/aavirtual/aa_caribbean.jpg  

The World (Red=AAL, Blue=OneWorld/Codeshare):
http://blakelyhome.dyndns.org/aavirtual/aa_world.jpg

FlightAware Flight Tracker

Last Updated: Saturday, May 12, 2007 08:37:59 PM

Index

Dassow Family Tree

Dassow FAQ

Significant Events on November 27, 1954

 

  Please vote for my friend Amy Guskin. Contest ends 2 May 2011.